Pocket52 PPC Sticky Banner

3-Bet: Shaun Deeb Champions $25K SHRPO PLO High Roller, Sam Sternfield Wins 2 SHRPO Titles

3-Bet: Shaun Deeb Champions $25K SHRPO PLO High Roller, Sam Sternfield Wins 2 SHRPO Titles
  • Sabyasachi Mukherjee August 8, 2023
  • 4 mins Read

The 2023 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open (SHRPO) commenced on July 26 at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Hollywood, concluding on August 8. Across the 59-tournament saga, the series showcased thrilling gameplay, with Shaun Deeb and Sam Sternfield emerging as standout champions.

Fresh off winning his sixth WSOP gold bracelet this summer, Shaun Deeb clinched the $25,000 PLO High Roller title, bagging $239,100. Roger Teska followed closely, securing $219,090 for his second-place finish.

On the other hand, Sam Sternfield made a dominating run in multiple non-hold’em events. He began his streak by championing the $600 Deep Stack Six-Max Pot-Limit Omaha, pocketing $23,260. Not long after, he seized the $2,700 Eight-Game Mix title, earning a personal-best payout of $55,745.


Shaun Deeb Wins $25K PLO High Roller at 2023 SHRPO For $239,100

Less than two months after clinching his sixth WSOP bracelet in Event #27: $1,500 Eight Game Mix at the 2023 WSOP, Shaun Deeb emerged victorious in the $25,000 PLO High Roller at the 2023 Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open, pocketing $239,100.

Deeb prevailed over an elite 22-player field featuring some of the globe’s premier poker talents. He outlasted Roger Teska heads-up to seize the title. Not far behind, Teska secured $219,090 for his commendable second-place finish.

The only other players to cash in were Alex Foxen (3rd for $97,800) and Ren Lin (4th for $65,200).

This triumph propels Deeb’s live tournament earnings to an astounding $12.30 Million. His recent victory echoes his outstanding performance at the 2023 WSOP. Although the Player of the Year accolade went to Ian Matakis, with Deeb narrowly missing out in second place, this momentum sets him up for a potential induction into the Poker Hall of Fame, for which he’ll be eligible in 2026 when he turns 40.

Shaun Deeb
Shaun Deeb


Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Shaun Deeb – $239,100
  2. Roger Teska – $141,300
  3. Alex Foxen – $97,800
  4. Ren Lin – $65,200


Sam Sternfield Bags A Double Whammy With 2 SHRPO Titles

While Sam Sternfield might not share the same limelight as Deeb, he certainly made waves at the Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open. Hailing from Florida, Sternfield turned heads in his home territory by clinching multiple titles in rapid succession.

His initial victory came on July 27 in the $600 Deep Stack Six-Max Pot-Limit Omaha. With 173 entrants, the tournament amassed a prize pool of $90,825. Sternfield triumphed with $23,260 — his second-highest cash prize to date.

Exhilarated, Sternfield exclaimed post-win, “The curse is over! So many close calls. I was out for blood today.”

This win highlights Sternfield’s prowess, marking his 10th final table appearance and his 19th cash finish in an SHRP major series event.

On August 4, Sternfield clinched another victory in the series, triumphing in the $2,700 Eight-Game Mix. With 65 participants, he secured a career-best payout of $55,745. Now boasting $340,000 in lifetime earnings, most of his impressive track record has been established in his home state.

Sam Sternfield
Sam Sternfield


Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Sam Sternfield – $23,260
  2. Jeffrey Gale – $15,300
  3. Frank Brannan – $10,355
  4. Ryan Gibson – $7,190
  5. Scotter Clark – $5,135
  6. Jeremy Parker – $3,775
  7. Andrei Mitsiuk – $2,855
  8. Gerardo Flores – $2,855
  9. Robert Cote – $2,230


Images and Content Courtesy: PokerNews

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms